
It is a coat of arms with a red and white crescent divided into two fields; the very symbol that can still be seen today on the porch arches of the Ungrispach house! One of the oldest houses in the city! On the central archway an inscription in Gothic characters (Anno domini 1441 incepit Simon Volker aedeificare hanc domum) explains, in the Latin of the time, that construction of the house had begun in 1441, prior to that of the Magistrate’s Office (1572) and today’s Questura (1542), once the palace of the Provincial States.

LE ULTIME NEWS
Chapeau! Here is the path to the rebirth of Via Rastello
An Open Day was held today to present “La Via del Borgo,” the project created last year as part of the PNRR Bando Borghi and coordinated by Confcommercio Gorizia to redevelop and revitalize Via Rastello and Borgo Castello in the heart of Gorizia, known so far as Cluster 1. An...
A road to travel: Confcommercio Gorizia chronicles the vibrant transformation of Borgo Castello through six special storefronts
Telling the vibrant transformation of Borgo Castello fostered by the Bando Borghi and the vision of tomorrow’s Rastello Street that La Via del Borgo – the Cluster 1 created as partofthe Project “A THOUSAND YEARS OF HISTORY AT THE CENTER OF EUROPE: BORGO CASTELLO CROCEVIA OF PEOPLES AND CULTURES,” funding...



